Community Aphasia Advisors (CAAs)

Our Community Aphasia Advisors (CAAs) are aphasia experts providing support services, resources, and information to people with and affected by aphasia in New Zealand’s main centres.

CAAs coordinate local AphasiaNZ activities, facilitate Korero (conversation) Clubs, run support groups, provide one-on-one home and community visits, and facilitate education sessions and workshops in communities to increase awareness and knowledge of aphasia.

Our CAAs are trained in supportive communication techniques, skilled at facilitating groups, and passionate communication accessibility advocates for those adjusting to reconnect after acquiring aphasia. 

We currently offer the CAA service in the following locations: Auckland, Western Bay of Plenty/Tauranga, Rotorua, Waikato West and Hamilton, the Central North Island (Taupo and Turangi), Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin. 

Referrals to the CAA Service

We accept referrals in a variety of ways. Referrals made by health professionals should be completed on our referral form.  Contact us to enquire about making a referral, or for a referral form. We accept referrals from anyone, and people can also self-refer.

Our Community Aphasia Advisor (CAA) Team

J Wanless – email: aucklandnw@aphasia.org.nz
Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) Central and Waitemata

A Jacobson – email: aucklandcs@aphasia.org.nz
Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) South

E Bartlett – email: franklin@aphasia.org.nz
Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) Franklin

C Grbin – email: waikatowc@aphasia.org.nz
Waikato West and Central

K Milford – email: tauranga@aphasia.org.nz
Tauranga Moana

O Greenwood – email: rotorua@aphasia.org.nz
Rotorua

M Dakin – email: centralnorth@aphasia.org.nz
Central North Island (Taupo and Turangi)

Wellington – email: wellington@aphasia.org.nz
Te Whanganui-a-Tara (Wellington)

E Maxwell – email: christchurch@aphasia.org.nz
Otautahi (Christchurch)

K Palmer-Donnison – email: dunedin@aphasia.org.nz
Otepoti (Dunedin)

For any enquiries about our CAA service, please contact us.